Imex Welt
Imex Welt


Crocus sativus, commonly known as saffron crocus, or autumn crocus, is a species of flowering plant of the Crocus genus in the Iridaceae family. It is best known for the spice saffron, which is produced from parts of the flowers.

The cormous autumn-flowering perennial plant species is unknown in the wild. Human cultivation of saffron crocus and use of saffron is known to have taken place for more than 3,500 years and spans different cultures, continents, and civilizations.

We are often asked questions about saffron grading, and this article is intended to give an overview of saffron grading and the difference between saffron grades.

Technically, saffron grading is governed by ISO 3632 which prescribes 4 grades based on several elements but significantly upon the measurement of spectroscopic absorbance of chemicals across the 3 dimensions of colour (crocine), aroma (safranal), and flavour (picocrocine).

Colouring power is the lead indicator as the other chemicals tend to occur in proportion to colour, and is measured on a scale as follows :

Grade I : > 190

Grade II :  >150

Grade III : >110

Grade IV : less than 110


Sargol quality Persian saffron is grade 1 according to ISO 3632 which means that it exceeds the colour absorbance measure of 190.  In fact most sargol quality saffron is well into the 200’s.

At Saffrondust we are extremely passionate about the quality of our Persian Saffron.  We deal in Sargol grade 1 Persian Saffron also Negin grade 1 Persian Saffron.

Our sourcing policy means you are guaranteed the highest quality saffron every time you buy from us, and we stand by our quality with our 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Imex Welt